My Mama’s Makin’ Chili

Laying on the examining table of my breast surgeon’s office. a suggestion was made to me to finally “fix things up”. I’m a 4 year breast cancer survivor, and after my initial 2 surgeries, I decided to wait to do any kind of reconstruction, until I knew I wouldn’t have to go under the knife again if my cancer came back.  So when the suggestion from Dr. Kleban came following my latest “clear” mammogram, it threw me off completely.  In that split second I found myself thinking about the possibility of this actually happening and I murmured “that would be great” almost under my breath, looking up at her.  The next thing I knew, I had a consult appointment in hand for Reconstruction…for the end of the week…and outta nowhere I was going to actually get this done.  Fast forward to 2 weeks later, and the reconstruction is done.  I’m recovering right now…VERY painful, but I’m glad I did it.

Mom came over today along with my sister, Jill and Brother-in-Law, Adam, and Mom decided to make a nice pot of chili so I wouldn’t have to do any cooking while I’m healing.  Here’s the wonderful recipe.

This is a delicious and easy recipe that always gets raves. Mom starts by opening cans of Kidney beans and tomato sauce.

She chops up a red onion

Then, in a large frying pan, olive oil is heating and ready.

the onions are added to the pan

The onions are sauteed in the olive oil until soft

Chop meat is added to the onions

Mom breaks up the chop meat to let it brown

Time for a little wine break 🙂

Jill is relaxing...awaiting the mouth-watering chili Mom is producing

OK, time to spice things up

More spice

Mom adds the tomato sauce...

and the kidney beans...

mix everything together, taste and adjust spices, then let it simmer for 30 minutes on the stove while everythings melds together...

"Happy Family" Don't worry, we saved some for Mark who was working late

A delicious bowl of chili...not too greasy, full of flavor and really easy to make...served with a dollop of sour cream, tortilla chips and cheddar cheese sprinkled on top.

Once, when I lived in CT, I had a cast party following a show I was in.  Mom was visiting from Florida, and she made a huge pot of this chili for my theatre friends.  After rave reviews and an empty chili pot, she gave out the recipe to the many who asked for it.  Here’s the recipe, complete, below.  I felt much better after eating it:)  Enjoy!

Connie’s Chili Con Carne

1 tbs Olive Oil

1 lb ground beef

1 small onion, chopped

1 8oz can of your favorite tomato sauce

2 tablespoons of chili (more or less depending on your taste)

1 can of red kidney beans, with liquid

1 tsp garlic (more if you like garlic)

salt & Pepper to taste

1 package chili Mix

In a large frying pan, saute onions in olive oil until soft.  Add ground beef and brown.  Stir in chili mix, chili powder and pepper.  Add tomato sauce and kidney beans, including the liquid from the beans.  Stir well.  Taste and adjust seasoning to your liking.  Bring to a simmer.  Cover and cook on low for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Serve in bowls, with grated cheddar cheese, tortilla chips and a nice dollop of sour cream.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Life and Times and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Mama’s Makin’ Chili

  1. Pingback: The long and winding road to fitness, day 95 « Run4joy59's Blog

  2. run4joy59 says:

    The chili sounds great!! How sweet of your mom to allow you to take the pictures and publish them in your blog!! She’s a star!!

    Seriously, congrats on being a strong survivor and taking the step to have the reconstruction done…best of luck to you as you heal and get even stronger!

Leave me a little note